Luckily for social media marketer and content creator Airam Dato-on, he’s invested in the best social media scheduling suite to help grow his social media management business.  After moving back to Orlando in 2019, Airam was looking for a way to help small businesses succeed on social media. After launching his ‘Takeout Bingo’ initiative (which offered a free portrait photoshoot to Orlando locals that got Bingo on the board) ), he grew a community online and grew his following to a whopping 31.2k followers.

Soon, he was hired as a social media manager and has gone on to manage a stack of social accounts for sandwich shops, coffee shops, realtors and more.  We chatted to Airam to find out what he loves about social media, his tips for aspiring social media managers and how Plann has helped his business grow and succeed (even during a global pandemic!).    

Finding and building a community on social media

“I moved back to Orlando in late 2019 with zero network. I was starting to build my network then the pandemic hit. As a way to help small businesses and get my name out there, I created a local food business Takeout Bingo.  From here, I was able to widen my network in the food and beverage industry and I was hired as a social media manager and turned into the creative director at  Taglish Collective and I managed the social accounts for their three restaurants. 

[My favorite thing about social media is] The community and connection.  I loved being able to connect with people from all over the world! I wouldn’t have been connected with Christy Laurence [Plann’s Founder & CEO] if one of my Instagram Reels hadn’t been shared to her.  I’ve made lifelong friends and crazy connections. As a community builder, [social media] is the engine that helps me gather people and mobilize communities across the US!”

Life before (and after) Plann

“I would have to post from my phone and waste memory. I only have 64gb on my old phone and that was a mess. I would have to constantly delete images and videos but with Plann, I am able to do everything on my laptop! Plann’s integration with Canva is life changing. Being able to use Canva and use Pexels with it in a seamless way is a gamechanger and it’s the absolute best.

Plann has made content planning, scheduling, and posting a breeze. I am able to be two to three weeks ahead for clients. It’s also made it easy for me to manage over three clients, too.”

Airam’s top tip for brands on Instagram

“Have a consistent color palette and photo editing style. You’re going to hate me for this but a beautiful aesthetic is slowly dying because of TikTok but it is still super strong on Instagram.  Personally, content with a consistent brand message will be queen of all over aesthetics.

Plus, my biggest tip for making the most of social media in 2022 is for brands to make Reels and TikToks and create hyperlocal content. I grew my audience to over 31k with Instagram Reels!” 

Ready to supercharge your success on social media?

Looking for an all-in-one content creation suite that allows you to effortlessly manage your social media channels? From mapping out your strategy and designing your graphics to saving plug-and-play hashtag sets, you’ll find everything you need inside Plann.  Go on, redeem your 7-day free trial of Plann Plus. If you don’t like it, keep using Plann for free!